DosBox help

Jacob

Rear Admiral
Hey all,

I just downloaded DosBox today after I felt the need to play some Star Wars: Dark Forces. A year ago I had my C drive wiped (mistake), and it used to run fine on that without any problems. Why, I don't know.

So I did what I did last time: just drag the files into the C drive. No problem there. Except for some reason it wouldn't start this time. So I go off and download DosBox.

I'm not a techie. The whole thing might as well be written in a foreign language, 'cause I sure as all hell have no clue what I'm doing. According to the program, I have to mount the C drive along with the director that it's in (DARK).

So I enter in the line "mount C C:\Dark\" and apparently it's mounted. So where do I go from here?

After downloading D-Fend, it's giving me the same message (when I load Dark Forces) as it did without DosBox: "Unable to load Local.MSG"

I should've mentioned that in my first post.

Edit: I've found the Local.MSG file, and it appears that my computer believes that it is an Outlook file. Could this be why it isn't working? How can I make it so that Outlook won't recognize it?

For a start, you need to realize that DOSbox is - very simply put - an aid to get DOS games to run under Windows. If your games did run in Windows before, or are Windows versions anyway, DOSbox won't help you.

Second, please tell us a bit about your computer. What Windows version is on it, what's the processor speed, memory, graphics card, etc.
If those terms don't tell you anything, sell your computer and get a girlfriend.