Let's compare GBAs...

Frosty

a full fledged GF
Everyone should post a photo of their Gameboy and tell a story about it, because AHCZ is dead, and I hate that.
mygbasp.jpg

There it is, one of my favorite material possessions.

I originally had a Glacier (white) GBA, which my mother gave to me when I graduated from high school in 2001, and I love it very much, but it's difficult to see the games on screen, so when the SP came out, I bought a Platinum one.

I took excellent care of the Platinum SP and always put it someplace safe, but one day I loaned it to a friend of mine and it came back scratched up and with some of the platinum exterior buffed off the corners to reveal normal beige plastic beneath. I gave this SP to my brother, who really wanted a Gameboy and enjoys it a lot, but never wanted to pay for one.

To replace the Platinum, I bought this Lime GBA SP on eBay. It's from a limited run of SPs that Target sold around Thanksgiving. They were all bought within a day or two, I think.

To get a Lime GBA in Japan, you need to buy lots of Nintendo merchandise and collect points, sort of like Mountain Dew points, and then trade your merch points for a Lime GBA shell. You mail your GBA to Nintendo and they put its guts in a Lime housing and send it back. In the United States, we were able to buy them at retail outlets, but they're not in unlimited production.

This Lime GBA isn't really rare, but it is a special edition, and I think it's awesome.

I was going to buy an NES SP, but I had to spend the money on something else. In the future, though, I want to have one of every kind of GBA SP released in the major markets. I'll probably never have them all, but it's a fun thing to imagine, my own personal GBA museum.

Frosty said:
Everyone should post a photo of their Gameboy and tell a story about it

I can't take a picture right now, but I'll tell a story.