Fired up the oldies again

Crowley

Rear Admiral
After a long time I started playing the first two Wing Commanders, though by now I'm only the first Secret Missions. Thank the deity of your choosing for DOSBox. There are a couple of things that puzzle me. First, who do they say that the Jalthi have six forward-mounted lasers, when in reality two of those are neutron blasters? Secondly, there's a nasty bug that comes up rather rarely. Sometimes when a ship is just about to leave the radar range, it explodes for no apparent reason. So far this has happened at least two times: first was when I told Spirit to return to the 'Claw in the very first mission. Second was in SM1 in the mission where I was supposed to cover the two Draymans carrying Reavers. When I approached them and tried to use autopilot, only one of them followed, and the other one spontaneously combusted when it got too far away.

Still, it's been damn fun. Especially the Gwenhyvar mission. Got my ship shot half to hell. By the time I docked I had lost both neutron blasters. Of course that only makes victory so much sweeter. I'm really looking forward to taking care of four Jalthi and three Fralthi in a Hornet at the beginning of SM2.

Strange, the enemy fighters are supposed to explode when you reach the Claw... but not the allied ones!

the first missions of each SM are HELLISH... Halcyon was not the same man, ehehehe

Valgard 2 is a pain... I tell Iceman to stay on my wing so I can get a max number of kills, but the result is he hammers himself to death against the Claw when I fly close by... Maybe I should let him rip for a change.