Beta 0.8 initial impressions

Floater

Spaceman
To the development team,

I'm very impressed. Privateer was one of my favourite games and you have improved on it dramatically.

I only started playing it last night but it appears to be very stable. I have two suggestions so far:
1) on the initial splash screen, the one with the Centurion firing on the Gladius, you might want to indicate that the game is loading and that the options shown at the bottom of the screen are not accessible. My first impression when loading the game was that it had crashed...
2) It would be nice if you could provide a text message to indicate why something is not purchasable instead of just showing it in red. This would eliminate some confusion I had upgrading reactors and shields.

I like to congratulate you on staying consistent with the original but adding things where they were sorely needed. Specifically, I say a Paradigm fire on a pirate in a Talon. The Paradigm seems to have recieved some much needed upgrades...

I like the notion of designating the canons as light, medium or heavy. One of my (few) dislikes about the original Privateer was that the fusion canon really didn't give you a benefit over the tachyon canon. (Sure it did more damage but when you consider the refire delay, the damage was actually less. In other words, if you held the fire button down the tachyon canon would do more damage over time and consume less power... Ever try taking out a Kilrathi cap ship using a Centurion with four fusion canons? Good luck, in comparison it was easy with four tachyon guns...) If fact, the tachyon canon was better than everything else. Even all of the pricier canons... Anyway, I'm ranting... Can you tell that I downloaded it last night and lost some sleep?!? I'll give you more feedback on this when I've played some more...

So far I'm very impressed! I'm also looking forward to flying the demon... Kudos to you!

Floater

i believe you're thinking of the plasma cun.